Mediterranean Linguini

 

My weekends are spent grocery shopping, meal prepping, and testing out new recipes in the kitchen! I transitioned to a vegan lifestyle over two months ago and it has been the best decision I’ve ever made. I’m full of energy and I’ve never felt healthier. The story of how I went vegan is for another time, but I am so excited to start sharing with you some of my favourite plant-based meal ideas.

Friday night one of my friends gave me full reign of their beautiful kitchen and I came up with this meal. Quite often I don’t follow recipes anymore. Sometimes I’ll use a recipe as a starting point or inspiration and then make it my own. Angela Liddon’s Oh She Glows Everyday is one of my greatest inspirations right now and I’d highly recommend it if you’re newly vegan or just looking to try out some meat-free dishes.

Friday, we went to the market and picked up some fresh, quality ingredients. I tend to splurge a little bit when I’m cooking for other people. For myself on a daily basis, I stick to more budget friendly meals and I will share lots of those with you as well. I also try to keep my recipes to 5-6 main ingredients. Simplicity is key. You don’t have to spend hours slaving in the kitchen and spend a fortune on a ton of ingredients to eat well. This recipe should take under thirty minutes start to finish, which includes prep time. It makes about 2-3 servings so it is perfect for a date night with your significant other or bestie!

Ingredients:

Olive Oil (2 tbsp)

½ Large Red Onion chopped

Fresh Spinach (2 cups)

Button mushrooms halved (1 cup)

Sun-dried tomatoes (3 tbsp)

Fresh linguini pasta (1 package) – Fresh makes such a difference but this can definitely be substituted for dry packaged pasta

Your favourite Marinara sauce (1 cup or half a jar)

Salt, pepper, and basil to taste

img_6594

Wash and chop your veggies while you heat up the oil in a large frying pan on medium heat. Add your veggies and sun-dried tomatoes and allow them to cook down for five minutes. While they are cooking, you can bring a large pot of water to a boil for the pasta.

Add your marinara sauce to the veggies and turn down to low to let simmer. Toss the pasta into your pot of water and let cook for 5-6 minutes. Fresh pasta takes less time than your regular boxed pasta so adjust your timing accordingly. Drain your pasta, rinse, and add to the frying pan. Toss the pasta in the sauce for a few minutes coating it completely. Add salt, pepper, and seasoning to taste. If you’re non-vegan, feel free to add parmesan cheese to your heart’s desire.

Finally, pour yourself a glass of wine, serve in big ol’ pasta bowls and enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

